The Ruth Enlow Library

Home

Search the Catalog

My Account

Databases & Reference

About Your Library

Programs & Events

Storytime Online

Local History & Genealogy

Young Adult

Public PC Use

Links

WMRL

SAILOR

 

Ask A Librarian - Have a quick question?

New Titles @ REL - Click to see list of recently added titles. (Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)

Get Adobe Acrobat

 


Databases & Reference

Descriptions listed below. Valid Library Card may be required for Home Use.

 

Baltimore Sun Archive
The Baltimore Sun Archive contains the full text of news, feature stories and editorials published in the Final Edition of the newspaper. The Archive includes stories from September 1990 to the present.

Credo Reference
Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.

p4A Antiques Reference
Inside Library or Outside Library

Unlike other reference tools, the p4A Antiques Reference database is focused on the American regional marketplace and does not include the top scale New York and London art and antiques markets.

EbscoHost
EbscoHost - provides full text articles from nearly 2150 popular magazine, journal, and news sources covering general interest, health, science, and other topics.

Searchasaurus - a search engine geared towards children.

NoveList - an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles.

Auto Repair Reference Center - get help for those do-it-yourself repairs

Book Index with Reviews(tm) (BIR) - a comprehensive database that provides information on over 3.8 million book titles in a wide range of formats, including large print, books on tape, etc.

Facts on File
World News Digest - The only complete, full-text, database of authoritative news and facts ranging from October 1940 to the present day!

Issues & Controversies on File - Deep backgrounders on the most important current issues, researched by professionals, and written and indexed for students.

Today's Science on File - The latest developments in science, health and medicine, and technology, updated every month.

The World Almanac® Reference Database - An archival version of this classic reference tool.

The World Almanac® Encyclopedia - The World Almanac Encyclopedia is created specifically for schools and libraries by the editors of The World Almanac and Book of Facts and Facts On File News Services.

Thomson-Gale
Biography Resource Center - This database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources.

Discovering Collection - Use this comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies.

Health and Wellness Resource Center - Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

LegalForms - Legal Forms for the State of Maryland

Literature Resource Center - Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.

US History Resource Center - Provides integrated access to over 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more then 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

Testing and Education Resource Center - Search for Career Resources, Education or Testing Preparation options.

World History Resource Center - From antiquity to the present, world history curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25 reference titles and from 110 academic journals.

Additional Gale electronic resources include:

GPO Access
The Government Printing Office (GPO) is the government agency that produces the Federal Register, among other publications. This is your link to government publications on-line.

Heritage Quest Online
ProQuest Information and Learning's HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture.

If you experience an error when trying to connect to this service, it is probably caused by your browser settings or personal firewall software. Click here for help resolving the problem.

Home Improvement Reference Center
The Home Improvement Reference Center (HIRC) is designed to assist homeowners with do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical and decorating.

AncestryLibrary.com (* only available in library)
Find census, birth, marriage, death records and more.

Learning Express
LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.

LitFinder.com
A searchable database of poems, short stories, and essays.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg makes much of the World's literature available in e-text form. There are now over 2000 texts available on-line.

Reference USA
From finding old friends and planning vacations to conducting market research and choosing a health care provider, this extensive database offers the information you need.

Sailor
Sailor is a project of the Maryland Public Libraries, intended to provide free access to information in digital formats in Maryland public libraries and on the Internet to Maryland residents.

Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities.

Value Line Research (* only available in library)
Value Line publishes more than a dozen print and electronic products which we think are used by more than half-a-million investors for timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles.


 

Home | Catalog | Databases & Reference | About Your Library |
Programs & Events | Local History & Genealogy | Young Adult | Links
Your Guide to Maryland Information and Beyond!

The Ruth Enlow Library of Garrett County
6 N. Second St.
Oakland, MD 21550
301-334-3996
Email info_@_relib.net

Your Guide to Maryland Information and Beyond!