Databases
Ancestry.com
Inside Library only
e-Books Overdrive Gale Databases Freegal Music Mango Languages
Filter by Subject
Filter by Letter
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z View ALL View icons View Subject List
ResourceDescription

Sort for A Return to Top

Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations DictionaryProvides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings. Terms from subject areas such as associations, education, the Internet, medicine and others are included
Adult Learning CenterWhether you are going back to school, switching jobs, or just want to brush up on an academic skill, our adult learning center is here to help. HelpNow writing experts will help you craft a winning resume and coverletter or help you learn Microsoft Office applications including Word, Excel or Powerpoint. Also, get help studying for the GED or U.S. Citizenship Test; Brainfuse includes practice tests, live coaching and other helpful resources.
Africa: An Encyclopedia for StudentsA general resource for African research for students at the high-school level or higher. Consists of 450 alphabetically arranged entries covering countries, regions, geographic features, cultural groups, personalities, and general subjects such as body adornment and clothing, oral tradition, and writing systems. Includes timelines, definitions and quick-reference fact boxes.
African American AlmanacThe African American Almanac provides historical and current information on African American history, society, and culture. It includes a chronology, primary documents, directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a filmography, and hundreds of brief biographies, photographs, maps, and statistical charts.
Agriculture CollectionWith a strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 400 titles is focused on agriculture and its related fields: from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. Over 20 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on agricultural related topics.
Alternative EnergyThis three-volume set introduces students to issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy options. While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the world's energy needs (oil, coal and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand.
America ErasIncludes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history.
American DecadesCovers 20th-century events and social history beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999. Each decade is covered, with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the decade. Within each topic, alphabetically arranged entries discuss historically important events, issues, definitions of difficult concepts or terms, and other interesting trivia and sideline stories.
American Decades Primary SourcesCross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
American Men and Women of ScienceThis respected resource is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists.
Ancestry.com - Library Edition
(Available inside library only)
The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps, American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War Collection.
Ancient Civilizations Reference LibraryThe ancient civilizations of Iraq, Egypt, India, China, Central America and other regions are the focus of this remarkable contribution to student reference.
Ask Us NowMaryland AskUsNow! is a 24/7 live online interactive service for the residents and students of the state of Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this timeframe.
Atlas of the Civil WarThis atlas describes the Civil War in five chronological sections, each of which frames the war as both a military conflict and a substantial social force that shaped the United States. In addition to substantial coverage of the war's multiple military theaters, this atlas also devotes substantial attention to nonmilitary elements of the struggle. Maps of population, economic development, elections, transportation networks, and patterns of enlistment accompany the text articles to better illuminate the war's social impact.
Auto Repair ReferenceInformation on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.