Search the: Catalog  OR Website    

About the Library

Ruth Enlow Libraries

Located in the scenic mountains of Western Maryland, the Ruth Enlow Library of Garrett County serves this rural community with print, non-print, and electronic resources designed to meet a variety of informational needs. The library's staff is dedicated to providing quality service to its patrons. In all five branches of the library system, patrons will find helpful staff and access to a wide array of books and information.Map of Ruth Enlow Libraries

Started in 1915 by the Oakland Civic Club, the main library in Oakland was housed in several locations until its current building was completed in 1950. Originally known as the Oakland Free Public Library, its name was changed to the Ruth Enlow Library in memory of Ruth Enlow, whose father was a major benefactor of the new library. 
Since 1950, branches of the library have opened in Accident, Friendsville, Grantsville, and Kitzmiller.


Thomas Vose, Director REL

Thomas Vose

Mission Statement

To the residents of Garrett County, Maryland:
The Ruth Enlow Library will be the people, whose helpfulness, courtesy and expertise will ensure access to the materials of appropriate level and format through the services designed to meet the informational, recreational, educational, and cultural needs of the community.

Strategic Plan

Our Strategic Plan for 2014 - 2017 is available as a PDF.

Annual Report

Our Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2016 is available as a PDF.


Ruth Enlow Library
Board of Trustees
6 N Second Street
Oakland, MD 21550